West Michigan Historic Homes
Michigan Travel News ( Press Release )
Historic Homes have Open Door Policy for Visitors
Grand Rapids, Michigan. April 10, 2002: Homes of yesteryear were built in such magnificent fashion and
now many are open as historic sites and museums, so you can tour them and get an inside look at
the lifestyles of their former residents.
The Voigt House Victorian Museum in Grand Rapids is one of several properties operated by
the Public Museum of Grand Rapids.
Experience history at Voigt House and discover fascinating details of everyday life from the turn-
of-the-century. Located in the heart of historic Heritage Hill District, this unique 19th century
home was built in 1895 and is preserved with the original furnishings and personal possessions
of Carl G. A. Voigt and his family. The past comes to life during a tour of the opulent home,
carriage house and historically landscaped grounds. Reflect on every facet of daily life in the late
1800s as you walk through the sitting room, parlor, dining room, kitchen and the servant's
Regular open house tours are conducted for the public every Tuesday, from 11 am to 3 pm and
the second and fourth Sunday of the month from 1 to 3 pm. Located at 115 College Avenue SE
in Grand Rapids directly across from WOOD TV8. 616-456-4600 -- www.grmuseum.org
The DeLano Homestead is a modest upright and wing Greek Revival house. Built by William
Smith DeLano in 1858, this house is located at the southern end of rural Copper Township in
northern Kalamazoo County.
DeLano was a southwestern Michigan pioneer settler, a native of western New York state. He
moved to the area in 1837 and began acquiring property at the age of 23. His first purchase was a
meager 40 acres. By 1854, DeLano owned over 100 acres and by 1880 that number had increased
to 235 acres. Over the year''s, his sons continued to buy up neighboring property. When the
family left the homestead in the 1960s, there were more than 600 acres of land.
In 1968, the Kalamazoo Nature Center acquired the home and most of the original DeLano farm.
After major restoration efforts were complete, the farmhouse opened to the public in 1975. The
home is now listed with both the State and National historic registers. Throughout the year, the
KNC hosts various events and public gatherings at the DeLano homestead and it is a popular site
for local school groups. 616-381-1574 -- www.naturecenter.org
The Hackley & Hume Historic Site in downtown Muskegon is a great opportunity to view one
of the rare intact Queen Anne style housing complexes in the region. This is one of three
National Register sites in Muskegon County. The former residences of Muskegon's most
prominent lumber barons -- Charles Hackley and Thomas Hume -- feature lavish wood carving,
outstanding stenciling, marvelous stained glass and period furnishings in the highest tradition of
Victorian decorative arts. The Site is rated by AAA as "One of Michigan's best examples of
The Hackley & Hume Historic Site is open for tours Wednesday through Sunday, Noon-4:00
p.m., May through October. The Hackley & Hume Historic Site is located on the corner of 6th &
Webster in the Historic District of Downtown Muskegon. 231-722-0278 --
The Cappon House in Holland offers the opportunity to experience Victorian times in a lovely
19th century home. Built in 1874, the Cappon House Museum was the family residence of Isaac
Cappon, one of Holland's most prominent early citizens. Hear the rags-to-riches story of this poor
Dutch immigrant who became a wealthy and influential community leader and father of 16
children. Interior features include fine hand-crafted woodwork, bronze hardware, original family
furnishings produced by Michigan manufacturers and family photo gallery.
The Settler''s House is located just five doors east of the Cappon House on 9th Street, this
simple house, built in 1867, exemplifies the life of a Dutch working class family in the late
Both homes are open for tours from 1-4 p.m., Wednesday through Saturday from June through
October. The Cappon House is located at 228 W. 9th Street. The Settler''s House is at 190 W.
9th Street. 888-200-9123 -- www.hollandmuseum.org
Construction began on Henderson Castle in Kalamazoo in 1890 and was finished by 1895.
Frank Henderson himself was the builder. After his death in January 1899, the castle stayed in
the family until 1920 when it was purchased by Bertrand & Alta Hopper. It was during that
period that Marshall Field of Chicago was hired to redecorated the interior of the Castle.
In 1934, Bertrand Hopper died, but Alta remained on until 1936. After her departure, the castle
stood vacant for almost 10 years.
The end of World War II brought a need for housing to the Kalamazoo area and the Stuifbergen
family purchased the castle, transforming it into a five unit apartment building. In 1958,
Kalamazoo College purchased the castle, but kept it as apartments and allowed the Stuifbergens
and the other tenants to live there.
In 1974, the Walker family bought the castle and moved in with a mission to convert it back to a
single family home. They worked on their project until 1981, when they sold it to Frederick E.
With great vision, Royce began what has been 20 years of painstaking restoration on Henderson
Castle. A work in progress, the historic home has been returned to it's original grandeur and is
ready to be shared. The Henderson Castle Bed & Breakfast is situated high on a hill overlooking
downtown Kalamazoo. The 11,000 square foot, Victorian mansion features 25 rooms, four guest
bedrooms and a wealth of amenities. 616-344-1827 -- www.hendersoncastle.com
The Adrounie House Bed & Breakfast in Hastings is also known as The House of Two
Doctors. The house, overlooking the historic Barry County Courthouse, was built in 1894 by
George W. Lowry who became the mayor of Hastings from 1906-1908.
In 1922, after his death, the home and Doctor''s practice were purchased by Dr. Haroutoune A.
Adrounie, a physician from the Detroit area. After his death in 1936, Dr. Adrounie''s wife,
Dorothy, resided in the home until her death in 1988.
The house, which is listed as a Michigan Historical Site, sat vacant until purchased in 1995 by
Don and April Tubbs. The home has been lovingly and beautifully restored to reflect the
Victorian era and offers six tastefully and comfortably decorated guest rooms. The front entry
and dining room have wonderful inlaid floors of oak and birdseye maple. Four sets of huge
pocket doors grace the main floor, with beautiful hand carved woodwork on the paneling of the
open stairway and beneath the windows. 126 S. Broadway, Hastings. 800-927-8505 --
For regional travel information, contact WMTA toll free at 800-442-2084 or log on to
www.wmta.org. Founded in 1917, WMTA is the oldest continually-operating tourist association
in the nation. Representing 41 counties from the Michigan/Indiana state line north to Mackinac
Island and covering the entire west half of the Lower Peninsula, WMTA is dedicated to proving
that "Nobody Knows West Michigan Like We Do!"